About the association of food journalists

AFJ is a professional organization dedicated to preserving and perpetuating responsible food journalism across media platforms.

Forty years after its founding, the group is as passionate as ever about helping members adapt to and excel in their rapidly changing field. While their backgrounds and platforms may vary, AFJ members share the same goal: To learn and grow together as professionals in the expanding world of food journalism.

Annual programming includes the AFJ awards competition, which takes place every spring.

AFJ shares its ethics principles because responsible journalism requires ethics and accountability. 

Members of this international group meet at an annual conference to discuss topics ranging from food history to reader engagement. In recent years the AFJ has traveled to Park City, Memphis, Seattle, Philadelphia and Phoenix.

Meet the executive board

Asador Etxebarri , Spain - Amanda prepares to enjoy the lunch of a lifetime in September 2016.

Asador Etxebarri, Spain - Amanda prepares to enjoy the lunch of a lifetime in September 2016.

Amanda C. Miller
Executive Director

Amanda C. Miller lives in Chapel Hill, N.C. She has a master’s degree in arts administration from Columbia University, and has worked for over 15 years in nonprofit management. Miller is leading AFJ's charge to engage with millennials and inspire dedication to ethical practices in an era motivated by profit. She was named executive director in January 2017.




Hanna Raskin

Hanna Raskin is the food editor and chief critic of The Post and Courier. Since joining the paper in 2013, she's earned multiple AFJ awards for online journalism and restaurant criticism; an IACP nomination for a documentary on camp meeting fried chicken and the first-ever James Beard Foundation award for local impact food journalism.

Raskin previously served as restaurant critic for the Seattle Weekly and the Dallas Observer. In 2013, she published “Yelp Help: How to Write Great Online Restaurant Reviews,” which received an M.F.K. Fisher Award from Les Dames Escoffier International.

A food historian by training, Raskin is a founding member of Foodways Texas and is active in the Southern Foodways Alliance. She has served as a regional co-director for AFJ and led the effort to update its ethics code.

Additionally, Raskin completed two terms as co-chair of the AFJ membership committee. As president, she's working to help make AFJ relevant to food journalists working outside of traditional newsrooms, including visual and audio journalists, and to establish the organization as a leading voice for the culinary world’s fourth estate. Her top priorities include emphasizing diversity, embracing technology and advocating for the preservation of journalistic and ethical standards in the industry-at-large.


Kathleen Purvis
Vice President

Kathleen Purvis has been the food editor, columnist and reporter for The Charlotte (NC) Observer since 1989 and a professional journalist since 1978. She is a longtime member of AFJ and has served in numerous positions, including past president, past vice president and secretary, as well as several terms as regional co-director and committee chairs. She hosted an AFJ conference in Charlotte in 2006. Before leaving the awards committee for the James Beard Foundation in 2018, she served for many years in several positions, including chair of the foundation's book awards, founding chair of the JBF Leadership Awards, and special liaison for the humanitarian and lifetime achievement awards. A two-time nominee for the James Beard Foundation journalism awards, she has won awards from AFJ and the N.C. Press Association and is a winner of the Missouri Lifestyles Journalism Award for news feature reporting and the Thomas Wolfe Award for Outstanding Writing from the N.C. Associated Press. She is the author of the books “Pecans” and “Bourbon” in the Savor the South cookbook series and "Distilling the South: A Guide to Southern Craft Liquors and the People Who Make Them," all from UNC Press. 

Jessica Stugelmayer

Jessica Stugelmayer

Jessica Stugelmayer is a multimedia journalist and editor based in Anchorage, Alaska. She is currently the digital content manager for KTVA CBS 11 News and formerly worked as the senior digital content editor for Edible Alaska magazine. She co-created the “Harvesting Alaska” series that won a James Beard Foundation award in 2017 for Best TV Segment. Her non-food video work has been featured in national PBS programming and honored with a regional Edward R. Murrow award for Best News Documentary in a Small Television Market. Jessica joined AFJ in 2016 and attended her first conference in 2017. She dedicated her time as a member of AFJ’s 2018 awards committee and was proud to help introduce new award categories for audio, video and Spanish-language food journalism.


Rick Nelson

Rick Nelson has been the restaurant critic at the Star Tribune in Minneapolis since 1998. He's looking forward to engaging with fellow AFJ members and putting his long-neglected MBA to use.



Banner photography credit - Steve Hoffman